​MODON is committed to environmental responsibility and has set up a system to manage the environment of the industrial cities which was established in the beginning of 2013 under the name of MODON Environmental Management System (MEMS) with a view of supporting and promoting the environmental services provided to the industrial cities and follow up with their environmental performance and eventually achieve its plans that aim to create environment friendly green industrial cities.

The phases of the system entered into force concurrently, commencing with the start of the first phase of the project (MEMS-I) that was carried out in partnership with Japan's Fujitsu Company, which has eight programs to monitor the ambient air quality in the following industrial cities:

Riyadh Second Industrial City, Jeddah First Industrial City and Jeddah Second Industrial City."

The second phase of the MODON environmental system was launched in 2018, with a new vision and another qualitative partnership with Saudi Envirozone (the Saudi environment sector company) that uses French technology and its advanced programs.

In its second phase, the MODON Environmental Management System included 13 programs, of which six were implemented by MODON directly, that are: environmental correction, environmental inspection, environmental awareness, assessment of industrial environmental applications, environmental rehabilitation and environmental risk assessment, while MODON oversaw the contractor performance in the implementation of seven other programs which included: monitoring of ambient air quality, chimney testing, ISO 14001 environmental auditing, quality control, modeling of the spread of air pollutants, automation of environmental systems using specialized databases, and building the competencies of MODON employees in the environment field.

·        Environmental Auditing

MODON understands that the best solution to improve the environmental efficiency of the industrial facilities is reached by helping them identify the wrong practices and then the necessary procedures that can rectify the situation. This is accomplished through the development of a specialized program for environmental auditing and the expansion of chimney tests in quantity and quality. For this reason three industrial cities were covered in the environmental auditing with a total number of visits to more than 400 industrial facilities, while eight industrial cities were covered through the Chimney Test Program with a total of more than 350 tests.

·        Chimney Tests

As dictated by the local requirements to assess the impact of these emissions and the industrial processes that result in the decline of the air quality in general, the levels of particulate matter in air as well as gaseous pollutants were monitored. These data had an obvious effect in reducing pollution levels observed in industrial cities. Furthermore, the industrial facilities where high emission levels of one pollutant or more had been observed were provided with optimal engineering solutions by experts in this field and follow-up of their implementation by MODON staff.

Program for modeling the spread of air pollutants

MODON devised a program to model the spread of air pollutants in a number of industrial cities, which proved the effectiveness of the measures taken by the factories to reduce their chimney emissions relative to the maximum levels expected through the modeling program.

In its second phase, the MODON Environmental Management System was also distinguished by applying the Quality Assurance and Quality Control (QA/QC) program, which was implemented by Ricardo AEA, the British company, as a third party to follow up with the air quality monitoring program.

Six field visits were made to each of the monitoring stations with a total of 42 visits, during which all necessary procedures and measures were taken to obtain high quality environmental data, in addition to ensuring the sustainability of the work of monitoring stations owned by MODON.

Operation of the Stations

MODON operates 11 air quality monitoring stations (10 fixed stations and a mobile one), where air quality monitoring has been expanded during the second phase of the project in quantity and quantity by raising the number of fixed stations to 10 monitoring stations covering 10 industrial cities that provide MODON with continuous data of the environmental conditions and air monitoring of the industrial cities. In addition, a mobile air quality monitoring station was launched in order to cover the promising cities and provide MODON with the necessary environmental information to assess the general environmental situation of the targeted industrial city, thus contributing to the optimal planning of the future of the cities through the types of industries to be accepted, and the manner in which industrial areas are divided by type.

​ Afforestation Projects:

As part of its efforts to transform its industrial cities into environment friendly cities, MODON has paid attention to afforestation projects and increasing the number of planted trees, which amounted to 63.6 thousand trees, in addition to increasing the size of areas with vegetation, including green areas, trees, lakes and fountains, which covered a total area of more than 1.8 million m2.

In the year 2018, MODON and the Ministry of Environment, Water and Agriculture signed a memorandum of understanding to grow one million trees in the industrial cities affiliated to MODON Kingdom-wide through the Afforestation and Natural Vegetation Development Initiative within the framework of the environment protection plans and the support of wild life, as well as the reduction of the effects of the desertification phenomenon.

Water

Despite the decrease in demand for water services in the industrial cities in 2018 compared to the previous year, MODON is forging ahead with its plans in the process of developing water services and facilities, operating new drinking water, pumping stations, sewage treatment, reservoirs and expansion of irrigation networks.

MODON's achievements in improving the quality of water services

§  Completion of the pumping of drinking water through the networks, which increased the reliability of service delivery instead of tanks to ensure the continuity of pumping water in Sudair Industrial and Business City and to provide water by tanks only in case of emergency.

§  Maintaining environmental sustainability and recycling of water by operating the technologically advanced industrial waste water treatment plant to supply water to Dammam First Industrial City. .

§  Expansion of the operational capacity of the water services in Dammam Second Industrial City through an increase in networks as well as addition of new stations to keep pace with expansion in the area.

§  Development of the means of communication with the partners to ensure the quality of the provision of water services.

§  Launch of water services in the residential area of Waad Al-Shamal Industrial City, bringing the total capacity of drinking water plants to 182,000 m3 per day by pumping an additional 133,000 m3per day, while the total existing capacity of waste water drainage reached 114,000 m3. The rate of receiving wastewater was 90,000 m3per day, while the rate of utilization of treated and renewable water for irrigation and industry as well as in MODON Lake was 35,000 m3 per day.​

 Last modified 18 Jul 2019
Content Rating   
Share

​ كانت "مدن" سباقة إلى تأسيس نظام "مدن" للإدارة البيئية (MODON Environmental Management System-MEMS) وذلك في مطلع عام 2013م، بهدف دعم وتطوير الخدمات البيئية المقدَّمة للمدن الصناعية ومتابعة أدائها البيئي، وتنفيذ مخططها الهادف لإقامة مدن صناعية خضراء صديقة للبيئة.

وقد دخلت مراحل النظام حيز التنفيذ بالتزامن مع بداية المرحلة الأولى للمشروع (MEMS-I) الذي تم تنفيذه بشراكة مع شركة فوجيتسو اليابانية، ذي البرامج الثمانية المختصة برصد جودة الهواء المحيط في المدن الصناعية التالية:

"المدينة الصناعية الثانية بالرياض، والمدينة الصناعية الأولى بجدة والمدينة الصناعية الثانية بجدة، ".

وخلال عام 2018م تم تدشين المرحلة الثانية من نظام "مدن" البيئي بتصور جديد وشراكة نوعية أخرى مع شركة قطاع البيئة السعودية (Saudi Envirozone) ذات التقنية الفرنسية وبرامجها المتطورة منتصف العام 2015م.

وشمل "نظام مدن للإدارة البيئية" في مرحلته الثانية 13 برنامجاً، نُفذ منها 6 برامج من قبل "مدن" مباشرة، هي: التصحيح البيئي، والتفتيش البيئي، والتوعية البيئية، وتقييم الطلبات الصناعية بيئياً، والتأهيل البيئي، وتقييم المخاطر البيئية، فيما أشرفت على أداء المقاول في تنفيذ 7 برامج أخرى، هي: رصد جودة الهواء المحيط، واختبارات الـمداخن، والتدقيق البيئي بنظام ISO 14001، كذلك ضبط الجودة والنوعية، ونمذجة انتشار ملوثات الهواء، وأتمتة الأنظمة البيئية باستخدام قواعد بيانات متخصصة، وبناء الكفاءات لمنسوبي "مدن" في المجال البيئي.

التدقيق البيئي

تعي "مدن" أن الحل الأمثل لرفع الكفاءة البيئية للمنشآت الصناعية يكون بمساعدتها على تحديد الممارسات الخاطئة ومن ثم الإجراءات اللازمة لذلك، من خلال استحداث برنامج متخصص للتدقيق البيئي وتوسيع نطاق اختبارات المداخن كماً ونوعاً، لذلك فقد تم تغطية 3 مدن صناعية رئيسة في برنامج التدقيق البيئي، بإجمالي زيارات شمل أكثر من 400 منشأة صناعية، في حين تم تغطية 8 مدن صناعية من خلال برنامج اختبارات المداخن بإجمالي أكثر من 350 اختبار.

فحوصات المداخن

بحسب المتطلبات المحلية لتقييم مدى تأثير هذه الانبعاثات والعمليات الصناعية المنتجة لها على جودة الهواء بشكل عام، تم رصد مستويات الجسيمات العالقة بالهواء بالإضافة إلى الملوثات الغازية وكان لهذه البيانات الأثر الواضح في تقليل مستويات التلوث المرصودة في المدن الصناعية، كما تم تزويد المنشآت الصناعية التي سجل فيها مستويات انبعاث عالية لملوث أو أكثر بالحلول الهندسية الأمثل من خلال خبراء في هذا المجال ومتابعة تطبيقها من خلال موظفي "مدن".

برنامج نمذجة انتشار ملوثات الهواء

قامت "مدن" بتخصيص برنامج لنمذجة انتشار ملوثات الهواء في عدد من المدن الصناعية، تم خلاله تبيان مدى فاعلية الإجراءات المُتخذة من قبل المصانع لتقليل انبعاثات المداخن التابعة لها على المستويات القصوى المتوقعة من خلال برنامج النمذجة المشار إليه.

كذلك فقد تميَّز "نظام مدن للإدارة البيئية" في مرحلته الثانية بتخصيص برنامج ضبط وتأكيد الجودة والنوعية (QA/QC)، حيث تم تنفيذه من خلال شركة Ricardo AEA البريطانية كطرف محايد (Third party) لمتابعة برنامج رصد جودة الهواء.

وتم تنفيذ 6 زيارات ميدانية لجميع محطات الرصد بإجمالي 42 زيارة، تم خلالها التأكد من اتخاذ جميع الاجراءات والتدابير اللازمة للحصول على بيانات بيئية عالية الجودة، بالإضافة إلى ضمان استدامة عمل محطات الرصد حيث تعود ملكيتها لـ "مدن".

تشغيل المحطات

تقوم "مدن" بتشغيل 11 محطة رصد جودة هواء (10 محطات ثابتة ، ومحطة واحدة متنقلة)، حيث تم التوسّع في رصد جودة الهواء خلال المرحلة الثانية للمشروع كماً ونوعاً ليتم زيادة عدد المحطات الثابتة إلى 10 محطات رصد" تغطي 10 مدن صناعية وتزود الهيئة ببيانات مستمرة وفورية للحالة البيئية وحالة الأرصاد الجوية في المدن الصناعية بالإضافة إلى تدشين محطة رصد جودة هواء متنقلة لتغطية المدن الواعدة وتزويد "مدن" بالمعلومات البيئية اللازمة لتقييم الوضع البيئي العام للمدينة الصناعية المستهدفة، مما يساهم في التخطيط الأمثل لمستقبل المدينة من خلال أنواع الصناعات التي يتم قبولها وطريقة تقسيم مناطق الصناعات بحسب أنواعها.

​​مشاريع التشجير

في إطار سعيها لتحويل مدنها الصناعية إلى مدن صديقة للبيئة، اهتمت "مدن" بمشاريع التشجير وزيادة عدد الأشجار المغروسة، والتي بلغ عددها 63,6 ألف شجرة، هذا بجانب زيادة مساحة الرقعة الخضراء فيها، والتي تتضمن مسطحات خضراء وأشجار وبحيرات ونوافير، بلغت مساحتها الإجمالية أكثر من 1,8 مليون م2.

وخلال عام 2018م وقعت "مدن"، ووزارة البيئة والمياه والزراعة، مذكرة تفاهم لزراعة "مليون" شجرة في المدن الصناعية التابعة لـ "مدن" في كافة مناطق المملكة، عبر مبادرة التشجير وتنمية الغطاء النباتي الطبيعي، وذلك في إطار مخططات حماية البيئة ودعم الحياة الفطرية وتقليل آثار ظاهرة الزحف الصحراوي.

المياه

رغم انخفاض الطلب على خدمات المياه في المدن الصناعية في عام 2018م مقارنة بالعام السابق، إلا أن "مدن" كانت ماضيةً في خطتها لتطوير خدمات ومرافق المياه، وتشغيل محطات جديدة لمياه الشرب والضخ ومعالجة الصرف الصحي بالإضافة إلى الخزانات والتوسع في شبكات الري.

أبرز إنجازات "مدن" في تحسين جودة تقديم خدمات المياه:

  • الانتهاء من عمليات ضخ مياه الشرب عن طريق الشبكات مما يزيد من موثوقية تقديم الخدمة عِوضًا عن الصهاريج لضمان استمرارية ضخ المياه في مدينة "سدير للصناعة والأعمال" والاكتفاء بالصهاريج في الحالات الطارئة.
  • المحافظة على الاستدامة البيئية وإعادة تدوير المياه، بتشغيل محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصناعي بالمدينة الصناعية الأولى بالدمام ذات المعالجة المتقدمة.
  • توسعة القدرة التشغيلية لخدمات المياه بالمدينة الصناعية الثانية بالدمام عن طريق الزيادة في الشبكات وكذلك إضافات محطات جديدة لمواكبة التوسعة في الرقعة المساحية.
  • تطوير وسائل التواصل مع الشركاء لضمان جودة تقديم خدمات المياه.
  • إطلاق خدمات المياه في المنطقة السكنية بالمدينة الصناعية بـ "وعد الشمال"، لتصل الطاقة الإجمالية لمحطات مياه الشرب إلى 182,000م3 في اليوم الواحد، يُضخ من خلالها نحو 133.000م3/اليوم، كما وصل إجمالي طاقة محطات الصرف القائمة 114.000م3/اليوم. وبلغ معدل استقبال مياه الصرف 90.000م3/اليوم، فيما كان معدل الاستفادة من المياه المعالجة والمتجددة لأغراض الري والصناعة وكذلك في بحيرة "مدن" 35,000 م3/ اليوم.
 آخر تعديل 18 يوليه 2019
تقييم المحتوى   
شارك على